historical fiction · Stories

Elizabeth Swann vs Elizabeth Tudor

Funny how people watch the same movie, and walk away impressed about different things. I never much valued the role of Elizabeth Swann in the movie series Pirates of the Caribbean. Ms. Swann had spunk, fabulous costumes, and her sweet young face did not distract from the yarn spinning of a pirate’s tale. To me, the movie series was a Hollywood romp.  I never thought seriously about the role of Elizabeth Swann until I read the blog by D. Hart St. Martin:

A Swann for the Dawn and the Sundown.

Hart recently finished writing the last book in her latest Young Adult trilogy and the protagonist, Lisen, has to rally troops to battle. Hart was quick to note that Elizabeth Swann made an impassioned, heroic speech in the movie because female protagonists in traditional male roles are re-occurring themes in her works. When I think of  speeches from females, I think of Elizabeth, Elizabeth Tudor, delivering her Tilbury speech in 1588. Aware that she was a female leader and unable to lead her troops into battle herself, she urges her troops to defend England against the Spanish Armada. She declares,

 “I know I have the body of but a weak and feeble woman; but I have the heart and stomach of   a king, and a king of England too, and think foul scorn that Parma, or Spain, or any prince of   Europe, should dare to invade the borders of my realm: to which rather than any dishonor     shall grow by me, I myself will take up arms, I myself will be your general, judge, and rewarder of every one oeliz armadaf your virtues in the field.”

 

 

 

 

 

Whew, what a long sentence. But I’m not gonna lie, just re-typing the words makes me want to reach for my sword…

 

3 thoughts on “Elizabeth Swann vs Elizabeth Tudor

  1. Which then leaves me to wonder. Was the name Elizabeth just a simple trick of fate? Or did the writers and conceivers known exactly what they were doing? Thoughts to ponder.

  2. My sense is that there was more intelligent thought and research to the scriptwriting than most Hollywood movies… grrr – not sure why I can’t fix the font sizes on this post, after some struggles, I leave it as is.

Leave a comment